Community Development Department

Modified Community Development Services Due to COVID-19

Updated March 18, 2020

Town Hall Public Closure
During the COVID-19 Local Emergency, all Community Development divisions will be open for business from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, even though Town Hall is closed to the public. Staff will continue to answer phones, respond to emails, process permit applications through eTRAKiT, review plans and work to ensure that construction is done in accordance with all building and fire/life safety codes. To contact Community Development staff, call 303.805.2332 or email or

Building Division Modified Services
The Parker Building Division will be limiting inspections to exterior construction as well as unoccupied residential and commercial structures while the Local Emergency is in place. For comprehensive details about modified Building Division services, visit

Planning Division(s) Modified Services
The Parker Planning Division(s) will not be holding meetings with applicants, project representatives and residents considering projects while the Local Emergency is in place. This is a temporary change in the Town’s development process. Staff will review requests for meetings regularly and contact applicants and their project representatives to discuss the need for the meeting and alternative arrangements. If there is a known or suspected COVID-19 exposure, staff will work with the applicant and their representative to schedule the meeting for a future date or make alternative arrangements. These alternative arrangements may include conference calls, email correspondence or virtual meetings. The site inspection season typically begins in May, however, the Planning Division(s) will exercise appropriate caution in scheduling and performing inspections if requested in March and April. We ask that all applicants and their representatives work with us to communicate known or suspected illnesses to reduce the potential for community spread of COVID-19 and ensure the continued health of residents, staff and the public. Finally, please be advised that Planning Commission meetings and required public hearings for development applications may be affected as the Town implements the Local Emergency declaration and responds to public health concerns. For comprehensive details about modified Planning Division(s) services, visit

Community Development Work Program/Work Plan

The 2020 Work Program and Three-Year Work Plan identify various projects, programs and day-to-day operations across all divisions to effectively maintain the orderly and balanced growth of the Town. View the plan here.


The Community Development Department consists of the following two divisions:

Building Division

The Building Division is responsible for reviewing and approving requests for building permits in the Town of Parker.

Planning Division

The Planning Division consists of Comprehensive Planning and Development Review.

Pre-Application Meetings

Zoning Map